Our Global Unschool Adventure

One family's quest to learn together

Guess What, Parents? Minecraft Actually Teaches Your Kids These Skills to Succeed in Life. | 2machines

minecraft

My children are really into Minecraft. I have to admit, I don’t understand it at all, but since it is something that they enjoy so much I’m determined to learn more about this game which keeps them occupied for so long. Here is an interesting article that I read recently by Margaret Rock. Do your children enjoy Minecraft? What are your thoughts on this game? I’d love to hear what other home/unschoolers think. Guess What, Parents? Minecraft Actually Teaches Your Kids These Skills to Succeed in Life. | 2machines.

3 comments on “Guess What, Parents? Minecraft Actually Teaches Your Kids These Skills to Succeed in Life. | 2machines

  1. corinnebjacob
    April 3, 2014

    My kids have been into the How to Train your Dragon game (http://www.schoolofdragons.com). They learn earth sciences in it and have a virtual garden which I learnt about when they came to me one day and asked if we could grow some vegetables once the weather got better. I’ve always imagined they were too young for Minecraft but now I’m going to have to reconsider. I can’t really comment on it but I will have to try!

    Like

    • Our Global Adventure
      April 4, 2014

      I don’t think my kids play that one Corinne, I’ll have to ask them, it sounds quite good! My two LOVE Minecraft though, my oldest more than my youngest, but we think it’s the creativity that appeals to her the most. She spends hours working on building houses, boats or even mazes rather than completing the aim of the game, which I think is to defeat a dragon 🙂

      Like

      • corinnebjacob
        April 4, 2014

        Haha. I can relate to that. I will have to try this out.

        Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 1, 2014 by in Online Learning and tagged , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 553 other followers

Follow Our Global Unschool Adventure on WordPress.com
